All That I Can Fix

All That I Can Fix
Artist/Author/Cast: 
Chan, Crystal
ISBN: 
9781534408883

"A superbly entertaining read." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Will win over teens." -- School Library Journal (starred review) A teen boy's world gets turned upside-down when a zoo of exotic animals takes over his small town in this wickedly funny, heartbreakingly honest novel that's perfect for fans of David Arnold. In Makersville, Indiana, people know all about Ronney--he's from that mixed-race family with the dad who tried to kill himself, the pill-popping mom, and the genius kid sister. If having a family like that wasn't bad enough, the local eccentric at the edge of town decided one night to open up all the cages of his exotic zoo--lions, cheetahs, tigers--and then shoot himself dead. Go figure. Even more proof that you can't trust adults to do the right thing. Overnight, news crews, gun control supporters, and gun rights advocates descend on Makersville, bringing around-the-clock news coverage, rallies, and anti-rallies with them. With his parents checked out, Ronney is left tending to his sister's mounting fears of roaming lions, stopping his best friend from going on a suburban safari, and shaking loose a lonely boy who follows Ronney wherever he goes. Can Ronney figure out a way to hold it together as all his worlds fall apart? From acclaimed author Crystal Chan comes an incisive tale of love, loyalty, and the great leaps we take to protect the people and places we love most.

Description: 

Ronney, dealing with a dad who attempted suicide, a pill-popping mom, and a genius sister, struggles to hold it together.

Call Number: 
YP F Chan
This item appears in the following Booklists:

NoveList

Find out more about this Author/Title: