New Now!

Nonfiction

Fiction

Plenty Ladylike

Plenty Ladylike
Artist/Author/Cast: 
McCaskill, Claire; Ganey, Terry (As told to)
ISBN: 
9781476756752

The female senator from Missouri shares her inspiring story of embracing her ambition, surviving sexist slings, making a family, losing a husband, outsmarting her enemies--and finding joy along the way. Claire McCaskill grew up in a political family, but not at a time that welcomed women with big plans. She earned a law degree and paid her way through school by working as a waitress. By 1982 Claire had set her sights on the Missouri House of Representatives. Typically, one voter whose door she knocked on said: "You're too young; your hair is too long; you're a girl....Go find yourself a husband." That door was slammed in her face, but Claire always kept pushing--first as a prosecutor of arsonists and rapists and then all the way to the door of a cabal of Missouri politicians who had secret meetings to block her legislation. In this candid, lively, and forthright memoir, Senator McCaskill describes her uphill battle to become who she is today, from her failed first marriage to a Kansas City car dealer--the father of her three children--to her current marriage to a Missouri businessman whom she describes as "a life partner." She depicts her ups and downs with the Clintons, her long-shot reelection as senator after secretly helping to nominate a right-wing extremist as her opponent, and the fun of joining the growing bipartisan sisterhood in the Senate. From the day she was elected homecoming queen in high school, Claire has loved politics and winning. Her memoir is unconventional: unsparing in its honesty, full of sharp humor and practical wisdom, and rousing in its defense of female ambition.

NewNow! - Nonfiction

In the Dark Places

In the Dark Places
Artist/Author/Cast: 
Robinson, Peter
ISBN: 
9780062240545

One of the world's greatest suspense writers returns with this gripping, powerful new novel featuring Inspector Alan Banks, hailed by Michael Connelly as "a man for all seasons." Life. Death. Good. Evil. Innocence. Guilt. All can be found IN THE DARK PLACES. It's a double mystery: two young men have vanished, and the investigation leads to two troubling clues in two different locations. As Inspector Banks and his team scramble for answers, the inquiry takes an even darker turn when a truck careens off an icy road in a freak hailstorm. In the wreckage, rescuers find the driver, who was killed on impact, as well as another corpse . . . that of someone who was dead well before the crash. Snow falls. The body count rises. And Banks, perceptive and curious as ever, feels himself being drawn deeper into a web of crime . . . and at its center something--or someone--dark and dangerous lying in wait. Vibrating with tension, ingeniously plotted, and filled with soul and poignancy, In the Dark Places is a remarkable achievement from this masterful talent. For readers of Michael Connelly, Louise Penny, and Tess Gerritsen, this is a novel to be read with white knuckles and a fast-beating heart.

NewNow! - Fiction