If You Liked Diary of Wimpy Kid

Recommended books for those who enjoyed the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.

Show All


The Adventures of Captain Underpants
Artist/Author/Cast:
Pilkey, Dav (Author, Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Pilkey
Description:

Two boys hypnotize their principal into thinking that he's a superhero.

Airball: My Life in Briefs
Artist/Author/Cast:
Harkrader, L. D.
Call Number:
YP F Harkrader
Description:

Even though he can't play, Kirby becomes team captain to prove that he's really the son of an NBA star.

Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things
Artist/Author/Cast:
Look, Lenore; Pham, LeUyen (Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Look
Description:

Coming from a long line of brave Chinese farmer-warriors, Alvin Ho wants to make friends and conquer his school.

Amelia's Notebook
Artist/Author/Cast:
Moss, Marissa (Author, Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Moss
Description:

Amelia writes in her diary about moving, old friends and new ones, and annoying older sisters.

Big Nate: In a Class by Himself
Artist/Author/Cast:
Peirce, Lincoln
Call Number:
JF Peirce
Description:

Middle-school student Nate is proud the day he gets detention from all of his teachers.

Bobby vs. Girls (Accidentally)
Artist/Author/Cast:
Yee, Lisa
Call Number:
JF Yee
Description:

Life becomes more complicated for Bobby when he accidentally insults ALL the girls, setting off a boy/girl war!

Dear Max
Artist/Author/Cast:
Grindley, Sally; Ross, Tony (Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Grindley
Description:

When Max writes to his favorite author, they become pen pals, talking about bullies, parachuting, and writing a book.

Donuthead
Artist/Author/Cast:
Stauffacher, Sue
Call Number:
JF Stauffacher
Description:

Obsessive-compulsive 5th grader Franklin makes an unlikely friend in Sarah Kervick, a tough-talking but neglected new girl.

Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-so-Fabulous Life
Artist/Author/Cast:
Russell, Rachel Renée (Author, Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Russell
Description:

Nikki Maxwell finds herself struggling to be popular in an exclusive private school where her father is an exterminator.

Frindle
Artist/Author/Cast:
Clements, Andrew; Selznick, Brian (Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Clements
Description:

A champion troublemaker, Nick decides to invent a new word to torment his teacher.

Heads or Tails: Stories from the Sixth Grade
Artist/Author/Cast:
Gantos, Jack
Call Number:
JF Gantos
Description:

Jack's diary helps him deal with his problems, including dog-eating alligators, a terrifying older sister, and an accident-prone brother.

The Homework Machine
Artist/Author/Cast:
Gutman, Dan
Call Number:
JF Gutman
Description:

Four fifth-graders design a computer program to do their homework, but it doesn't work.

How to Survive Middle School
Artist/Author/Cast:
Gephart, Donna
Call Number:
YP F Gephart
Description:

David Greenberg finds middle school even worse than he thought, but then he meets Sophie.

Justin Case: School, Drool, and Other Daily Disasters
Artist/Author/Cast:
Vail, Rachel; Cordell, Matthew (Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Vail
Description:

Justin chronicles the ups and downs of school in this diary-style novel.

Knights of the Lunch Table
Artist/Author/Cast:
Cammuso, Frank
Call Number:
GN JF Cammuso
Description:

When Artie opens a mysterious rusted locker, he is plunged into a dodgeball tournament with the Horde.

Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Artist/Author/Cast:
Benton, Jim (Author, Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Benton
Description:

Learn about life at Mackerel Middle School through the eyes of Jamie Kelly in this hilarious series.

Letters from Camp
Artist/Author/Cast:
Klise, Kate; Klise, M. Sarah (Illustrator)
Call Number:
JF Klise
Description:

Camp Happy Harmony is where fighting siblings go. Their letters home suggest that something fishy is going on.

Max Quigley: Technically Not a Bully
Artist/Author/Cast:
Roy, James
Call Number:
JF Roy
Description:

After playing a prank on a "geeky" classmate, Max's punishment is to be tutored by the kid he teased.

Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff
Artist/Author/Cast:
Holm, Jennifer L
Call Number:
YP F Holm
Description:

Told entirely through notes, grocery receipts, and a vast array of other items, this story follows Ginny as she accidentally dyes her hair pink, throws live frogs in class, and loses the lead role in ballet to her ex-best friend.

Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life
Artist/Author/Cast:
Patterson, James; Tebbetts, Chris (As told to); Park, Laura (Illustrator)
Call Number:
YP F Patterson
Description:

Rafe wants to make the first year of middle school memorable by trying to break every school rule.

Pages